The Neon Demon – White of the Eye

The Neon Demon from Nicolas Winding Refn is one of my favorite films of 2016 – the slow burn into uncomfortable crescendo, glittering visuals and thumping soundtrack created a package I was absorbed by. A fashion drama that descends into a vampiric horror story is something I can really get behind, and I felt that I had to make something to show how much I love this film.

I know The Neon Demon is not for everyone (those who are it are for seem few and far between), and I have no urge to make those who do not like it suddenly do so; instead, I have created a video essay discussing who I believe the neon demon, as a character, to be. This is a highly interpretable film and this can be read in many different ways, but here’s my spin on it.

This is my first film based video essay and honestly, i am quite proud of it for a first attempt. It was a lot of fun to make and I intend to continue making them on a more regular basis – trying for 1 a month. But we’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

